CELC & ESW Community Education Liaison Coordinator& Education Support Worker

Community Education Liaison Coordinator& Education Support Workers or Education Outreach Coordinators are often a teacher's first contact with the First Nations community. As employees of their respective First Nations, they are an integral part of the school community and provide a link between the school and the community. CELCs & ESWs and EOCs provide several services:

  • Support First Nations students
  • Provide counseling or referrals for First Nations sudents, and/or parents
  • Assist with planning and securing resource people within the community for lesson and unit plans
  • Provide guidance pertaining to Fisrt Nations curriculum content
  • Plan and provide workshops and training related to cultural relevancy
  • Act as a liaison between the school and the communty
First Nation Name E-mail Community Phone
Carcross/Tagish First Nation Robin Lord (ECO) robin.lord@ctfn.ca

Carcross
(Ghuch Tla Community School)

(867) 821-4251 ext. 8229
 

Donna Ward (EOC)

Donna.ward@ctfn.ca

Whitehorse
(F.H. Collins Secondary)

(867) 667-8665

Champagne & Aishihik First Nations/Haines Junction/Whitehorse

Diane Jenschatz (Benjamin) (ESW)

dbenjamin@cafn.ca

Haines Junction (St. Elias Community School)

(867) 634-2231
332-5857
667-8044

  Luke Campbell (ESW)
lcampbell@cafn.ca/
luke.campbell@yesnet.yk.ca
Whitehorse Elementary Schools (867) 336-3283
  Jennifer Chambers (ESW) jlchambers@cafn.ca Whitehorse Secondary Schools (867) 332-5850
First Nation of Na-Cho Nyak Dun Joanne Buyck (CELC) celc@nndfn.com J.V. Clark School, Mayo (867) 996-2804
Kluane First Nation Not available at this time      
Kwanlin Dun First Nation
Whitehorse
Shirley Smith (CELC)
shirley.smith@yesnet.yk.ca
Elijah Smith Elementary (867( 667-5992
  Evelyn Troy (CELC) evelyn.troy@ yesnet.yk.ca Porter Creelk Secondary (867) 667-8004
Liard First Nation Not available at this time      
Little Salmon/ Carmacks First Nation Alma Wrixon (CELC) alma.wrixon@lscfn.ca Tantalus School, Carmacks (867) 863-5371
Ross River Dena Council Joanie Acklack jmjacklack@hotmail.com Ross River School (867) 969-2722
Selkirk First Nation Julia Joe (CELC) juliajoe@selkirkfn.com Eliza Van Bibber School, Pelly Crossing (867) 537-3008
Ta’an Kwäch'än Jessica Bryant (ESW) jbryant@taan.ca Whitehorse Schools (867) 668-3613 ext. 294
Teslin Tlingit Council Lenora Minet (ESW)
lenora.minet@ttc-teslin.com
Whitehorse Schools
867) 667-8665 ext 247 (867) 667.8665
  Robin Smarch, Senior(ESW) robin.smarch@ttc-teslin.com Teslin School (867) 390-2570 (867) 390-2532 ext.321
Tr'ondëk Hwëch'in Ashley Bower-Bramadat (K-6 CELC)

Ashley.Bower-Bramadat@trondek.ca

Robert Service School
(867) 993-5435
  Nicole Cook
(7-12 CELC)
nicole.cook@trondek.ca Robert Service School (867) 993-5435
Vuntut Gwitchin First Nation Christine Creyke (ESW)
Esw1@vgfn.net

Chief Zzeh Gittlit School

(867) 966-3161 ext. 279
  Glenna Tetlichi Esw2@vgfn.net Whitehorse Secondary Schools (867) 456-3826
White River First Nation Bessie Chasse (CELC) wrfn.celc@outlook.com Nelnah Bessie John School (867) 862-7802

What can you do?
Upon arrival at a school, introduce yourself to the CELC, ESW or EOC and the First Nations language teacher.

Download the contact list for CELC, ESW and EOC in each comminuty.